Skip to the content

Arnold & District Camera Club

Arnold, Nottingham, UK


Affiliated to the Photographic Alliance of Great Britain through the North and East Midlands Photographic Federation.

Member of the Gedling Borough Arts Association.

Welcome to the Arnold & District Camera Club

Arnold is approximately five miles north of Nottingham city centre. We are a group of amateur photographers and enthusiasts dedicated to promoting photography within our area. Our members range in skill from the beginner to the accomplished amateur.


Meetings are held at Pond Hills Lane Community Centre. A typical club night begins at 7:30pm with the programme event starting at 8:00pm. We have a coffee/tea break about 9:00 pm and close around 10:00-10:15pm. The first two visits are free and thereafter a nominal entry fee is charged.


The Club holds, for members, competitions for projected images and prints with trophies (shields) awarded to the winners at the end of the year. The competitions are in two sections, one is 2 rounds of themed images and the other is 2 rounds of open images, so everyone has a chance of winning. There is also an annual print competition and a trophy is awarded for the winning print. This competition forms the Annual Exhibition which is usually displayed in the Arnold Library each year. Members are also eligible to enter external competitions under our affiliation with the Photographic Alliance of Great Britain and the North & East Midlands Photographic Federation.


The Club is now well equipped thanks to Lottery money awarded in 2007 from Awards For All. This has enabled us to offer even more to our local community and members. Digital audiovisual shows are now a regular part of our annual programme. We are now well placed to pass on our expertise in all aspects of digital photography as well as traditional film based techniques.

The Club is very grateful to Awards For All for this huge boost to help with ongoing and future projects.

News: Thursday 11th September 2014

<strong>Judge Alan and Tony

Judge Alan and Tony


Verity Nikou won the Open Digital Projected League edging out three other authors by just one point. Alan Greaves, Alan Young FRPS,EFIAP and Mike Owden finished as runners up on 70 points. Phil Howcroft claimed the third spot with 67 points.

On the night Tony Mann was placed first on 20 points, with Mike Owden second on 19 points and Verity third with 18 points.

Results on the night Title

1.------------Tony Mann-------------------- City Peaks
2.------------Mike Owden-------------------Field of Gold
3.------------Verity Nikou------------------ Smokescreen

Final League Positions and points

1.------------Verity Nikou-------------------- 71-----(36-35)
2.------------Alan Greaves--------------------70----- (37-33)
2.------------Alan Young----------------------70-----(36-34)
2.------------Mike Owden---------------------70-----(34-36)
5.------------Phil Howcroft--------------------67-----(33-34)
6.------------Marlies Chell---------------------66-----(34-32)
7.------------Keith Courtney------------------65-----(31-34)
7.------------Tony Mann-----------------------65-----(30-35)
9.------------Keith Hucknall------------------63-----(31-32)
9.------------Mike Pointon--------------------63------(31-32)
11.-----------Dave Hollingsworth------------62-----(32-30)
12.-----------John Bagshaw-------------------61-----(29-32)
12.-----------Rex Stevenson-------------------61-----(27-34)
14.-----------Margaret Johnson------------- 59-----(30-29)
15-----------Marion Clay----------------------41-----(26-15)
16.----------Michael Harrison----------------33-----(----33)
17.----------Greg Foster-----------------------32-----(32----)
18.----------Richard Bostock-----------------30-----(----30)
19.----------Michael Whitehead--------------29----(29----)
20-----------Angela Wilson--------------------27----(27----)
21.----------Linden Lee------------------------26----(26----)
22.----------Shaun Mackenzie----------------26----(26----)

Congratulations to Verity on her win and well done to the runners up.

Many thanks to our judge for the evening John Anfield LRPS for his excellent adjudicating and delivery.